Hits: 134



Terrigal 41
Josh Vainikolo, Arana Taumata, Kevin McNamara, Dan Sargeant, Dylan Calabria, Elekana Laupola tries;
Jayden Woolley 4 conversions, 1 penalty goal;
Ourimbah 22
Rob Peden, James Blanch, Matt King tries;
Tyrone Davies 2 conversions, 1 penalty goal

The Lakes 46
Peni Raulini 2, James McCombie 2, Brent Gilmore, Tom Katti, Macui Raulini tries;
Logan Hemopo 3 conversions, 1 penalty goal;
Layton Walters 1 conversion
Warnervale 28
Ben Butler, Atu Turagabesci, Matt Martin, Jacob Griffin tries;
Cameron McNamara 4 conversions

Avoca Beach 30
Shaun Townsend 3, Alex Hall, Tom Monteith tries;
Shaun Townsend 1 conversion, 1 penalty goal
Kariong 22
Rob Brown 3, Richard Harvey tries;
Scott Hanley 1 conversion

Woy Woy 42
Sunita Fihaki, Jovesa Kunawave, Fokolulu Taumalolo, Zac Doak-Stride, Corey Fleming, George Manu tries;
Alex Moore 6 conversions
Hornsby 19
Harry Fox 2, Mitch Fullager tries;
Sam White 2 conversions

Terrigal 69
Ourimbah 69
Gosford 53
The Lakes 41
Avoca Beach 36
Warnervale 30
Kariong 26
Hornsby 19
Woy Woy 12
Ourimbah 7 Terrigal 6
The Lakes 68 Warnervale 0
Kariong 31 Avoca Beach 17
Woy Woy 43 Hornsby 19

Ourimbah 15 Terrigal 5
The Lakes 20 Warnervale 0
Avoca Beach 55 Kariong 5
The Entrance 52 Gosford 19

Kariong 24 Avoca Beach 15
Terrigal 43 Gosford 5

The Lakes 29 Warnervale 17
The Lakes 27 Warnervale 5
Terrigal 36 Ourimbah 0
Terrigal 31 Ourimbah 5
Avoca Beach 36 Kariong 0
Avoca Beach 36 Kariong 0
Woy Woy 32 Hornsby 0
Woy Woy 20 Hornsby 0

The Match of the Day at The Haven Oval yesterday saw Terrigal defeat Ourimbah by 41 points to 22. The win by Terrigal ended Ourimbah’s undefeated run for the season and certainly opened up this year’s Central Coast Rugby Union competition. It was a hard fought and even struggle for three quarters of the match but it was Terrigal who dominated the latter stages of the match to secure a pleasing victory for the home side. The first half was a totally even affair with the two teams going to the halftime break level at 15 points apiece. Both teams had periods of attack followed by some great defence. Ourimbah were striving to maintain their unbeaten run while Terrigal were attempting to record their first win over Ourimbah in quite a while. The second half continued in much the same way. Both teams were able to cross for a converted try each at the start of the second period. At the midway points of this half the scores were still all locked up, at 22 points each. It was still anybody’s match. It was a typical clash between the two best performed teams in this year’s competition. However, it was Terrigal who stormed home in that final 20 minutes. They were able to post an impressive 19 points in the final quarter of the match to record their best win of the season. Best players for Terrigal were hooker Jim Storey, locks Alex Brewin and Josh Vainikolo, and prop Kevin McNamara. Best performers for Ourimbah were halfback Josh Holman, prop Cameron Kesby and lock Josefa Biu. It was a most impressive team effort by the Terrigal outfit. The win sees Terrigal replace Ourimbah as leaders in the race to the Minor Premiership. Both teams are locked on 64 points and the Minor Premiership will be decided in the final round next Saturday.

The Lakes defeated Warnervale by 46 points to 28 at Slade Park in such an important victory for the home side. The win sees The Lakes cement fourth spot on the competition ladder and the Final Four for this year has already been decided with one round to go. It was a most dominant performance by The Lakes in a match that most people thought would go right down to the wire. The Lakes controlled proceedings right from the start and by halftime led by 29 points to 7. The home side all but had the match secure at that stage but there was to be no relenting on the scoreboard. The second half was a far more even affair with Warnervale actually slightly outscoring The Lakes by 21 points to 17 but it was all too late for the visitors. The win will see The Lakes play in the Minor Semifinal in 2 week’s time against Gosford. Best players for The Lakes were forward James McCombie and back Peni Raulini, who both scored 2 tries apiece. Best for Warnervale were Brenton Acreman, Potika Phiva and Dean Crofskey.

Avoca Beach ended their season with a win over Kariong at Kariong Oval, running out winners by 30 points to 22. Having the bye in their final round, Avoca Beach would have enjoyed finishing the season with a pleasing win. It was a close encounter throughout the match. Avoca Beach went to the halftime break with the narrow lead of 12 points to 10. The second half continued in the same vein as the first. Avoca Beach did score 5 tries to 4 and this fact alone demonstrated the closeness of the clash. A feature of the match were the 3 tries scored by 2 players. Avoca Beach’s Shaun Townsend crossed for 3 tries, as did Kariong’s Rob Brown. Despite the win, Avoca Beach will just miss out on the Final Four for this year. Best players for Avoca Beach were lock Elliott Dawkins, hooker Fion Henderson-Foley, and Shaun Townsend. Best performers for Kariong were Rob Brown, Richard Harvey and Scott Hanley.

Woy Woy recorded their second win of the season when they accounted for Hornsby by 42 points to 19 at Woy Woy Oval. It was a most pleasing effort by the team and it was a well deserved victory. Woy Woy went to the halftime break leading by 14 points to 5 however they went on with it in the second stanza. It was a rewarding way for Woy Woy to hit back after what has been a frustrating season for them. Best players for Woy Woy were Sunita Fihaki, Joseva Kunawave and Alex Moore. Hornsby gave it their all but it was just not their day in this “battle of the lions”. Best for the visitors were Harry Fox, who scored 2 tries, Sam White and Mitch Fullager.

At Gosford Showground The Entrance was too strong for Gosford in the President’s Cup, running out winners by 52 points to 19.

Women’s 7’s rugby yesterday saw all eight teams in action. Most results went as expected with several teams in line to make the Finals this year. Wins were recorded by Avoca Beach, Terrigal, The Lakes and Woy Woy.