Glory to face Manchester United in prestige friendly at Optus Stadium

Perth Glory FC

Perth Glory is delighted to confirm that it will face Manchester United in a prestige friendly at Optus Stadium on Saturday July 13 2019.

The clash with the world's biggest club is set to be one of the greatest sporting events ever held in WA.

The Red Devils, who have a global fan base of over 650 million, have won the UEFA Champions League three times, the English league title on 20 occasions and have also claimed 12 FA Cups.

Their friendly with Glory is poised to break the record attendance for a football match in WA which was set when Tony Popovic's side took on Chelsea, also at Optus Stadium, earlier this year.

WA Premier Mark McGowan, Minister for Tourism Paul Papalia and Minister for Sport and Recreation Mick Murray were joined by Manchester United legend Ronnie Johnsen, former Leeds United striker Michael Bridges and Glory's Football Director Jacob Burns for a press conference at Optus Stadium to confirm the Glory - United clash, along with the fact that United will also be playing old rivals Leeds United at the same venue three days later.

It was further revealed that United will be staying in Perth for ten days, something Glory Owner and Chairman Tony Sage believes is particularly significant.

"I'm super-excited that Manchester United are coming and it represents a massive coup for Perth Glory," he said.

"It is fantastic news for our club, but also for the wider football community in WA given the amount of time that the world's biggest football club will be spending here in Perth.

"It promises to be an unforgettable period for our football community and I can't wait."

Ticket details for the United game will be forthcoming shortly, with Glory members set to be granted access to an exclusive pre-sale period.

Castro confirmed as Glory skipper

Castro confirmed as Glory skipper

Glory skipper  Diego Castro

Diego Castro has been confirmed as Glory’s club captain for the Hyundai A-League 2018/19 Season.

The Spaniard will be supported by a three-man leadership group composed of Andy Keogh, Shane Lowry and Liam Reddy.

The announcement was made at Wednesday’s Glory in Business Lunch where Castro confirmed that he is thrilled to have been awarded the armband.

“It’s a big honour and a responsibility at the same time,” he said, “but I’m taking that responsibility with all the support of my teammates and the coaching staff.

“It’s a positive thing in my career and I’m ready for the new challenge.

“I’ve been a captain before a couple of times in my career and this will be an experience that will help me grow and develop.”

When asked about his leadership style, meanwhile, the former Johnny Warren Medal winner insisted that not much will change.

“I don’t think I’ll be too different to the way I’ve been before,” he said.

“I’ve always tried to lead by example and suggest advice to the younger players.

“We have lots of experienced players and staff who can help with this.

“In football, it’s easy to communicate. It is simple to get my message across to the other players.

“Maybe talking to the media is a tough one because it’s not as easy to express myself as well in English as I do in Spanish, but I will do my best.

"I think we will do our talking on the field this year.”

Glory Head Coach Tony Popovic is adamant that the man who joined Glory in 2015 is well qualified to lead the side.

“Diego was a natural choice,” he said.

"During the three seasons that he has spent here at Perth Glory, he has been a leader on and off the field.

"We are fortunate to have a strong leadership group in the squad which will be a great benefit for us throughout the exciting journey that lies ahead."