CCCA Round 17 Day 1 Review

Pin It


Results from Round 16 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition was played Saturday.

Rd 17 – Two Day Matches – Day 1 completed

Southern Spirit 235 (Laurence Legge 87, Joey Liddle 4/86, Brett Russell 3/29) vs Warnervale 1/17 at Woongarrah Sports Complex

Lisarow-Ourimbah 108 (Mark Leard 4/25) vs Wyong 5/64 at Sohier Park

Brisbane Water 122 (Ben Sunshine 37, Kyle Jordan 4/33) vs Narara-Wyong 7/80 (Matt Sunshine 5/28) at Gavenlock Oval

Kincumber Avoca 151 (Dan Heuston 32, Brett Lenton 4/17, Jeremy O’Connell 3/29) vs Northern Power 2/43 (Ben Gillies 33) at Harry Moore Oval

The Entrance 9/159 (Shaun Byfield 57, Nick Hay 37, Josh Bridge 4/45) vs Terrigal Matcham 102 (Grant Miller 4/14, Kris Capeski 3/25) at Jubilee Park

Overall Ladder:

The Entrance 66, Warnervale 64, Wyong 58, Narara-Wyoming 55, Northern Power 46, Kincumber Avoca 46, Brisbane Water 44, Lisarow Ourimbah 38, Terrigal Matcham 37, Southern Spirit 16


Defending Premiers, The Entrance are firming into claiming the Minor Premiership title are a commanding display on Day 1 of Round 17 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition.

Bowling first after Terrigal Matcham won the toss, the Gulls bowlers led by Grant Miller 4/14 and Kris Capeski 3/25 dominated the Bellbirds batting line up dismissing them for 102. Kyle James was the only batsmen to pass 20 finishing on 29. Former representative leg spinner made an encouraging return to first grade cricket taking 2/46.

Despite only scoring 102 with the bat, the Terrigal Matcham stuck to their task with the ball and at stumps have The Entrance at 9/159. Josh Bridge 4/45 and Jaime Brien and Kyle James, two wickets apiece bowled well. Shaun Byfield 57, Nick Hay 37 and Jason Blackwood 29 were the pick of the batsmen.

Second placed Warnervale have their work cut out for them in their match against bottom placed Southern Spirit at Woongarah Oval.

Batting first the Spirit continue their improved batting form finishing with 235, with opener Laurence Legge leading the way with 87, whilst another seven batsmen reached double figures in arguably their most consistent performance for the year. Spinner Joey Liddle was the most successful bowler taking 4/86 off a marathon 30 overs whilst Brett Russell chipped in with three wickets towards the end of the innings.

Southern Spirit ensured they ended the day on a high when Harry Jaenke claimed the wicket of Jon Boyd to have the Wildcats 1/17 at stumps.

Narara-Wyoming grip on fourth position is still in balance at stumps in their match against Brisbane Water at Gavenlock Oval.

The Lions led by Kyle Jordan 4/33 were on top early restricting the Bluetongues to 6/48 before a 38 run partnership between Ben Sunshine 39, and Kevin Searle, 18 allowed them to get to 122.

In response, Narara-Wyoming appeared to be travelling well at 4/73, however a dynamic spell of bowling by Matt Sunshine late in the day saw the Lions lose 3 wickets for 7 runs, which left them precariously placed at 7/80, still 42 runs in arrears. In form veteran Andy Ryan is still at the crease on 17 not out having taken two wickets earlier in the day. For Sunshine it continued his magnificent season for the Bluetongues, with the paceman claiming 5/28, the third time this year he has taken five wickets in an innings.

Northern Power and Kincumber Avoca’s finals chances are still alive after an even day 1 at Harry Moore Oval.

With both teams needing a win to keep their season alive and it was Kincumber Avoca who took to the crease first and put together a total of 152. In form batsmen Dan Heuston 32, Michael Williams 26 and Bryce Birks were the leading run scorers whilst Brett Lenton, 4/17 and Jeremy O’Connell 3/29 were the pick of the Power bowling attack.

In response Northern Power suffered an early blow losing O’Connell for just 4 runs and then leading batsmen Ben Gillies in the last over before stumps for 33 to be 2/43 at the close of play.

The match at Sohier Park is evenly poised with Wyong requiring 45 runs and Lisarow Ourimbah five wickets to claim first innings points.

Batting first Lisarow-Ourimbah were dismissed for a patient 108 coming off 60 overs with Mitch Pennington top scoring with 2 late in the innings. Mark Leard was standout with the ball taking 4/25 whilst spinners Harry Townsend and Andrew Dufty combined for 3/22 off 25 overs.

Having a moderate total to defend the Magpies hit back immediately with Ethan Milne claiming two early wickets before spinner Tom Horner claimed two wickets late to leave the game in the balance. The experience pair in Rob Westley and Leard are the not out batsmen and the Roos will be placing their faith in them next week.

For full match details go to :

CCCA T20 Semi Final Review

Pin It


Results from the semi finals of the CCCA T20 & under 21’s competition which were played yesterday.

T20 Semi Final

The Entrance 9/101 (Jason Blackwood 50, Jeremey O’Connell 3/21) def Northern Power 6/95 by 6 runs @ Erina Oval

Warnervale 2/113 (Simon Keen 71no. Kaine Harmsworth 35) def Kincumber Avoca 8/112 (Dan Heuston 52, Simon Keen 3/16) by 8 wickets @ Adcock Park

Under 21’s Semi Final

Wyong 5/80 def The Entrance 8/79 by 5 wickets @ Erina Oval

Kincumber-Avoca 8/75 (Andrew MacDougall 3/11) def Brisbane Water 66 (Jack Heuston 4/4) by 11 runs @ Adcock Park


Short format heavyweights The Entrance and Warnervale will meet in the final of the CCCA T20 competition after contrasting wins in today’s semi-finals.

At Adcock Park, Warnervale asserted their authority from the first over of the match when Simon Keen to took two Kincumber Avoca wickets, on their way to winning by 8 wickets.

Following the early setback which saw them at 3/4 Kincumber-Avoca struggled to reach 8/112 off their 20 overs, with Dan Heuston a standout with 52, Keen finished with figures of 3/16 off his four overs to be the pick of the bowlers.

Chasing 113 for victory it was Keen who again set the standard taking 15 runs off the first over before finishing with 71 not out off 42 balls, which included 6 fours and 5 sixes.

Kaine Harmsworth provided solid support scoring 35 as the Wildcats reached the target in the 14th over for the loss of just two wickets, both of which were taken by Ethan Short.

The other semi-final at Erina Oval was a thrilling affair with The Entrance prevailing in a nail biter by six runs.

Batting first, The Entrance skipper, Jason Blackwood continue his excellent T20 form putting together a well compiled half century as his team mates fell around him. Ash Hardy 13 and Callum Dunkerley 12 were the only other batsmen to reach double figures as the reigning premiers were reduced to 9/101 off their 20 overs. Jeremy O’Connell was the pick of the bowlers with 3/21, whilst skipper Chris Archer took 2/12 off four overs.

In reply, Northern Power got off to the ideal start with Brett Lenton and O’Connell putting on 40 runs of six overs for the opening wicket before O’Connell fell to an injudicious shot, after hitting 3 fours in a six in his innings of 25, having survived a missed stumping second ball.

Despite needing less than 5 runs per over, Northern Power batsmen continued to show poor shot selection and the loss of key wickets, and tight bowling saw the run rate begin to rise and in the end in proved too much for the Power with The Entrance winning by six runs. What they would have done for someone to play an innings like Blackwood did for The Entrance.

Lenton was solid scoring 21, whilst Mark Daniel finished 15 not out at the end. Kris Capeski was the most successful bowler with two wickets whilst Adam Taylor was very important through the middle of the innings conceding just 9 runs off his four overs and picking up the wicket of Zac Abel.

The Entrance and Warnervale now meet in a mouth watering final on February 24 at Baker Park.

The Under 21’s Grand Final, Kincumber-Avoca will play Wyong after they recorded wins over The Entrance and Brisbane Water respectively in yesterday’s semi-final.