Pin It

Wyong pulled of a houdini act to remain at the top of the CCCA Men's 1st Grade competition, whilst Kincumber Avoca, Narara Wyoming, Northern Power and Southern Spirit all recorded wins in Round 5.


Home Team


Away Team


20 Nov 21

Lisarow10/161 BR Sunshine 51 H Paterick 33  S Jarvis 2/33

def by

Kincumber3/187(cc) D Robertson 102* T Allard 55  M Pennington 2/41

Bill Sohier Park (Sohier Park No. 1) 

20 Nov 21

Terrigal9/176(cc) HE Brien 40 LJ Radcliffe 38 ZP Peters 37  LJ Rainger 3/19 BA King 2/38

def by

Wyong5/180(cc) H Murphy 67* JT Liddle 58  A Patterson 2/36

Duffy's Road 

20 Nov 21

Narara6/98 E Lulham 34  BT Shelley 2/12


Brisbane Water96 S Eaton 33  K Lawson 3/19 JP Smith 3/22

Fagans Park (Fagan Park) 

20 Nov 21

Northern Power3/131 Z Abel 54* J O'Connell 47  D Hill 3/20


Warnervale130 B Russell 70*  M Howarde 5/15 C Archer 3/23

Harry Moore Oval (Oval No. 1) 

20 Nov 21

Southern Spirit181 LE Cork 70 S Higgins 37 LA Bull 28  B Hardy 4/22 M Shelley 2/25 JJ Pereira 2/31


The Entrance7/165(cc) L Gale 61 B Hardy 30  HS Jaenke 2/27

Col Gooley Field (Oval No. 1) 

All the excitement was at Duffy's Rd where Wyong defeated Terrigal Matcham in a thriller with Wyong taking 3 wickets in the final over the match to claim victory after the Bellbirds needed five runs off the last over for victory.

All the action started earlier though as Wyong, after winning the toss and batting were reduced to 3/11 as Alex Patterson and Nic Toohey made good use of the new ball. It took a magnificent partnership of 106 runs for the 4th wicket between skipper, Hayden Murphy and Jordan Liddle to get the innings back on track. Liddle was dismissed for a well made 58, however Murphy was able to continue at the crease finishing unbeaten on 67 as Wyong reached a very creditable 5/180 off their 40 overs. Patterson was the most successful bowler with 2/36.

In reply Terrigal got off to an excellent start as Harry Brien (40) and Lloyd Radcliffe (38) put on 85 for the first wicket. Zac Peters chimed in with 37 in the middle order to set up a finish whereby Terrigal Matcham needed 10 runs for victory with 5 wickets in hand. Lachlan Rainger bowled the second last over, conceding 4 runs but also picking up the wicket of Rob von Elling which left the equation of 6 runs needed to win and 4 wickets in hand. Kaleb Daley was handed the responsibility of bowling the final over which saw Alex Patterson, run out on the 2nd ball of the over, Nic Toohey run out next ball and pivotally Peters caught off the fourth ball. The final pair off Josh Bridge and Jamie Brien could only manage a leg bye from the final two balls which saw Wyong record a memorable victory and requiring just one point from their final two one-day games to seal a spot in the one day final.

An unbeaten run a ball century from reigning Alan Davidson Medallist, Dylan Robertson saw Kincumber Avoca record a 26 run win over Lisarow Ourimbah at Sohier Park. Coming in with the score at 1/5, Robertson peeled off a magnificent 102 not out, an innings which included 12 fours and a six and with assistance from opener Tim Allard, 55 saw the Griffens post 3/187 off their 40 overs.

In response, Lisarow Ourimbah struggled to match the run rate early against tight Kincumber Avoca bowling however a late flourish from Ben Sunshine (51 of 37 balls) saw them finish at a respectable 161 when dismissed in the 39th over.

Southern Spirit made it three wins a row when they defeated The Entrance by 16 runs at Col Gooley Field.

Led by in form batter, Lachlan Cork, Southern Spirit were dismissed for 181 with Cork scoring his 2nd half century off the year finishing with a fine 70. Shane Higgins 37 and Lachlan Bull 28 provided good support. Broc Hardy was gain the pick off The Entrance bowlers finishing with 4/22.

The Entrance's innings in reply was steady however led by a good spell from Harry Jaenke saw them the loss of 3 wickets for 6 runs to put them in a precarious position at 5/72 at the halfway point off the innings. Lachlan Gale and Kristiann Capeski did their best to get the Gulls over the line with an 81 run partnership but in the end they came up 16 runs short. Gale finished with a polished 61 and Capeski 24 not out. Jaenke finished with 2/27 in his best performance of the year.

Narara Wyoming showed that they will not give up their one day crown without a fight with a strong bowling performance from skipper James Smith 3/22 and paceman Kieran Lawson 3/19 guiding them to a 4 wicket win over Brisbane Water at Fagans Park.

The competitions leading run scorer Shaun Eaton was again the topscorer for Brisbane Water with 33.

Narara Wyoming at little trouble polishing of the required runs with Ethan Lulham topscoring with 34 whilst the return of former NSW Country Peter Gallichan would have warmed the hearts of Lions supporters as he contributed an unbeaten 16.

In the final game, Northern Power remained in touch of the top two with a comfortable 7 wicket win over Warnervale.

After Mitch Howarde 5/15 and Chris Archer 3/23 dismissed Warnervale for 130, Zac Abel 54 not out and Jeremy O'Connell 47 ensured the Power passed the total with relatively ease.

Brett Russell was the standout player for Warnervale with 70, whilst Daniel Hill took all three Northern Power wickets to fall.

Table (unofficial): Wyong 24, Kincumber Avoca 17, The Entrance 13, Terrigal Matcham 13, Northern Power 13, Brisbane Water 11, Narara Wyoming 11, Southern Spirit 10. Lisarow Ourimbah 7, Warnervale 3.

The top two teams progress through to the final and there are two rounds remaining.

You can view all scorecards click here

© Copyright “2021”Central Coast Sports