Pin It


Wyong, Narara Wyoming, Terrigal Matcham and The Entrance all get their first wins of the season last Saturday afternoon.

At Gol Gooley Oval, Narara Wyoming put on a dominant bowling display to win by 8 wickets against Southern Spirit. Batting first, the Spirit never got any partnerships together with only one player making double figures and extras being the top scorer, were bowled out for 44. Kyle Jordan did the damage at the top taking 4-12 off 8 overs while Keiran Lawson and Mark Wood also took three wickets each. The Lions chased down the total 2 down within 19 overs to claim a bonus point. Peter Gallichan top scored with 19 while Carl Bolte finished 14*.

Terrigal Matcham were equally impressive as they claimed a comprehensive 10 wicket win against Lisarow Ourimbah. The Magpies batted first and were dismissed for 83, losing their last 8 wickets for 33. Matt Jones showed some resistance scoring 20 however needed more support to put up a better total. Wickets were shared equally among the Bellbirds with Austin Haba the pick of the bowlers. Mitch Bowring, 33*, and Kristian Mitchell, 42*, made sure there were no hiccups in the run chase, chasing the runs down in 17 overs without losing a wicket.

Wyong got an important win defeating Northern Power by three wickets at Baker Park. The Power went into bat first and got off to a terrific start with Brett Lenton, 33, and Tim Smith, 37, moving the score to 70. The Power hit a roadblock in the middle of the innings losing 4-8, slowing down their momentum and eventually being bowled out for 145. Debutant Tiegan Kavanagh was the star with the ball taking four wickets while Bailey King also took two. The Roos got off to a slow start being 3-35 early in their innings before Callum Rainger stepped up, making 41 and setting up Wyong for victory. But when they lost three quick wickets, it was Chris Becker, 21*, and Bailey King, 14*, that guided them home. Chris Archer, Jeremy O’Connell and Dave Molan all took two wickets.

The Entrance got a big victory on Saturday defeating last years premiers Kincumber Avoca by four wickets. The Griffins batted first and were going along nicely at 2-84 before a late order collapse saw them finish their innings at 123. Steve McCabe was the best with the bat with 37 while veteran Jason Blackwood to three wickets. The Seagulls were in trouble early falling to 3-25 but it was skipper Jeff Hemming and former skipper Lochie Gale leading from the front both scoring 33 and giving their side the win. Rob Lavery and Ethan Short both claimed two wickets in the defeat.

© Copyright “2020”Central Coast Sports