The Entrance has claimed back-to-back CCCA One Day titles with a five wicket win over Terrigal Matcham at Jubilee Park yesterday.

The Entrance Cricket Team Mitch Starkey - Greg Smith Medal

The win was set up on the back of a dominant bowling display which saw Terrigal Matcham dismissed for just 61, however The Entrance had some nervy moments with the bat before claiming the trophy.

Batting first on an excellent wicket, Terrigal Matcham made a steady start putting on 23 for the first wicket before Kris Capeski dismissed Dante Otto. Capeski then took the key wickets of Lloyd Radcliffe 19 (top score for the innings), Ryan James (3) and Kyle James (1) to have the Bellbirds reeling at 4/35, with his figures sitting at 4/17 off 7 overs.

Capeski’s departure brought no respite for Terrigal Matcham as Mitchell Starkey entered the attack, and he ripped through the middle and lower order to claim the figures of 6/10 of 5.4 overs. A performance which saw him earn the Greg Smith Medal as Player of the Match.

In the end Terrigal Macham were dismissed in the 30th over for just 61 runs.

Chasing the modest total, The Entrance lost the key wicket of Adam Taylor without scoring to Josh Bridge who then dismissed Shaun Byfield (12) and Ben Day (1) in quick succession.

The competition’s leading wicket taker, Jaime Brien then chipped with the wicket of Broc Hardy for 12, courtesy of a brilliant catch by Ryan James before Daniel Cross induced an edge from Nick Hay, and all of a sudden The Entrance supporters were nervous with the score sitting at 5/36, still 25 runs for victory.

Not to be denied though the veteran Ash Hardy and youngster Callum Dunkerley were able to steady the ship and put on an unbeaten partnership of 27 to see the side to victory. Dunkerley finished 20 not out and Hardy 12.

Bridge was superb for Terrigal Matcham finishing with the figures of 3/19 off 10 overs.

After losing the T20 final to Warnervale last Sunday, The Entrance will now focus on defending their major premiership which they will do so from the position of Minor Premiers.

Full match scores: