Results from Round 18 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition which was played yesterday.

Rd 18 – One Day Match

Lisarow Ourimbah 7/198 (Cormac McLoughlin-Gavin 67, Rod Where 58no, Michael Shelley 3/70) def Narara-Wyoming 154 (Blair Lindsay 4/28) by 44 runs at Sohier Park

The Entrance 3/126 (Ben Day 40 not out) def Kincumber 125 (Mitch Starkey 4/33) by 7 wickets at Erina Oval

Wyong 8/171 (Jordan Liddle 46, Kaleb Daley 43, Mitch Bowring 3/26, Jaime Brien 3/35) def Terrigal-Matcham 112 (Tim Bowring 40, Andrew Dufty 3/17) by 59 runs @ Baker Park

Warnervale 223 (Simon Keen 67, Scott Atkinson 41, Ben Cohen 6/25) def Brisbane Water 137 (Ben Sunshine 69no, Simon Keen 6/47) by 86 runs at Adcock Park

Northern Power 6/293 (Brett Lenton 138no, Zac Abel 79, Ross Watson 3/35) def Southern Spirit 199 (Laurence Legge 104, Justin Gerrie 60, Dave Molan 3/27, Nathan Stokes 3/50) by 94 runs @ Col Gooley Field

Overall Ladder:

The Entrance 82, Warnervale 76, Wyong 64, Northern Power 62, Narara-Wyoming 61, Lisarow Ourimbah 50, Brisbane Water 48, Kincumber Avoca 46, Terrigal Matcham 37, Southern Spirit 16

Semi Final Fixtures next Saturday and Sunday (winners to play in the Grand Final on 16/17 March)

The Entrance vs Northern Power @ Sohier Park

Warnervale vs Wyong at Woongarrah Oval


Northern Power has snatched a finals berth at the expense of Narara-Wyoming following an enthralling final day of the CCCA 1st Grade home and away season.

Entering the final round in third position, Narara-Wyoming only required a win to ensure a finals berth, however a loss to arch rivals Lisarow-Ourimbah, and wins to Wyong and Northern Power has seen then missing the finals by one points. The Entrance finished the season as Minor Premiers and will contest the finals along with Warnervale, Wyong and Northern Power.

At Sohier Park, Lisarow Ourimbah on the back of 67 from Cormac McLoughin-Gavin in his final game before returning to Ireland and a blistering 58 not out from Rod Wherle were able to put a very competitive 7/198 on the board from their 50 overs. Wherle’s innings came off just 31 balls and included 6 sixes and 1 four with 30 runs coming off the final over of the innings to propel the Magpies to a total which ended up proving too many for Narara-Wyoming. Michael Shelley, despite being on the end of Wherle’s onslaught was the most successful bowler finishing with three wickets.

Chasing 199, to reach the finals, Narara-Wyoming were always struggling especially in the absence of leading batsmen and skipper, Peter Gallichan. In the end they were dismissed for 154 with Harry Moriarty topscoring with 29. Lisarow Ourimbah captain, Blair Lindsay ended a fine season with the ball taking 4/28 off his ten overs.

Two centuries were the highlight of the match at Col Gooley Field where Northern Power defeated Southern Spirit by 94 runs to claim an unlikely finals berth. After round 11 Northern Power were sitting in 9th position on the ladder, however six wins, including an outright from their last seven matches saw them claim fourth position by a point.

Batting first, Northern Power put a massive 6/293 from their 50 overs with Brett Lenton and Zac Abel putting on 156 runs for the third wicket. Abel was dismissed for 79 however it was Lenton who continued his amazing turnaround. Starting the season as a swing bowler and lower order bat, Lenton was elevated to the top order as a pinch hitter early in the year and he has blossomed as the season progressed. His innings today was his best finishing with 138 not out at a run a ball which included 9 fours and 3 sixers. Ross Watson was the best of the Spirit bowlers taking 3/35.

Chasing the mammoth total the Spirit slumped to 5/43 before Laurence Legge and Justin Gerrie came together and put on 141 runs to even give their side and outside chance of a monumental victory. The dismissal of Legge for a superb 104 (116 balls , 9 fours, 1 six) ended that thought and when Gerrie went not long after for 60 the innings fell away to be all out for 199. Lion hearted opening bowler Dave Molan was again excellent with 3/27 whilst fellow opening bowler Nathaniel Stokes took three wickets with the new ball to put the Spirit on the back foot.

Wyong secured third spot on the ladder with a 59 run win over Terrigal Matcham at Baker Park.

Jordan Liddle, 46 and Kaleb Daley, who survived a confident shout for a run out early in his innings, 43 laid the platform for Wyong to score 8/171 from their allotted 50 overs. Mitch Bowring and Jaime Brien each took three wickets for Terrigal Matcham.

In reply Terrigal Matcham, missing key batsmen Ryan & Kyle James and Lloyd Radcliffe, never troubled the total and were dismissed for 112. Tim Bowring led a lone hand from the top of the order to finish with 40 whilst spinner Andrew Dufty took 3/17 for Wyong.

The Entrance claimed the Minor Premiership, Alan Davidson Cup and $1,000 when they easily accounted for Kincumber Avoca at Erina Oval.

Kincumber-Avoca were dismissed for 125 with the bat which saw seven of the top eight batsmen all reach double figures but no player exceeding 16. Mitch Starkey took 4/33 to be the most successful The Entrance bowler.

The Entrance cruised to victory for the loss of just 3 wickets with the only minor hiccup being when veteran Griffen Jamie Rowe took two wickets in quick succession to remove Adam Taylor and Broc Hardy. Ben Day 40 not out and Nick Hay 23 not out saw that there would be no further concern for the Gulls passing the total in the 36th over.

In the final game, Simon Keen flexed his muscles to ensure Warnervale will enter the finals full of confidence, recording their tenth win in their last 11 games, accounting for Brisbane Water by 86 runs at Adcock Park.

Keen contributed with both bat, 67 off 55 balls and ball, 6/47 off 9 overs as Warnervale were untroubled. Scott Atkinson with 41 opening the bating and some late order cameo’s saw the Wildcats dismissed for 223. Ben Cohen proved the unlikely star with the ball claiming 6/25 off 8 overs which included three stumpings to Dave Mitchell.

In response, Brisbane Water were dismissed for 137 runs in the 29th over with Ben Sunshine the standout with an unbeaten 69.

For full match details go to :