The final two T20 matches of the CCCA 1st Grade competition were played Saturday

Rd 14

The Entrance 2/141 (Jason Blackwood 48, Broc Hardy 33no) def Brisbane Water (Jordan Vilensky 40, Ben Cohen 33) by 8 wickets at Jubilee Park

Narara-Wyoming 1/77 (Peter Cross 38no) def Warnervale 9/76 (Mark McLachlan 3.12) by 9 wickets at Woongarrah Sporting Complex

Northern Power 5/157 (Zac Abel 54, Ben Gillies 52) def Lisarow Ourimbah 88 (Chris Archer 3/17) by 69 runs at Sohier Park

Kincumber Avoca 8/116 (Chris Clement 34, Andrew Dufty 3/10) def Wyong 8/113 (Steve McCabe 4/16) by 2 wickets @ Baker Park

Southern Spirit 9/79 (Josh Bridge 3/13) def Terrigal-Matcham 77 (Daniel Friend 3/2) by 1 wicket at Col Gooley Field

Rd 15

The Entrance 4/128 def Lisarow-Ourimbah 8/127 (Adam Taylor 3/17) by 6 wickets @ Jubilee Park

Kincumber Avoca 2/42 def Southern Spirit 41 (Bryce Birks 3/3, Jack Heuston 3/18) by 8 wickets at Col Gooley Field

Warnervale 7/117 (s keen 36, Michael Leard 3/20) def Wyong 76 (Troy Waite 4/13, Kaine Harmsworth 3/18) by 41 run at Woongarrah Sporting Complex

Terrigal-Matcham 2/65 def Brisbane Water 62 (Jaime Brien 3/17) by 8 wickets at Duffy’s Rd

Northern Power 7/112 (Ben Gillies 78no, Aras Baird 3/21) def Narara-Wyoming 75 by 37 runs @ Harry Moore Oval

T20 Table (top four qualify for semi-finals on 3 Feb): The Entrance 30 (1.7905); Warnervale 30 (1.7355); Kincumber-Avoca 28 (1.5757); Northern Power 18 (1.1781); Narara-Wyoming 18 (1.0645); Wyong 18 (1.0451); Lisarow-Ourimbah 14 (0.7279); Brisbane Water 8 (0.4766); Terrigal-Matcham 6 (0.8328); Southern Spirit 6 (0.4912)

Overall Competition Table: The Entrance 64, Warnervale 62, Wyong 56, Narara-Wyoming 49, Northern Power 46, Kincumber-Avoca 44, Brisbane Water 42, Lisarow-Ourimbah 36, Terrigal-Matcham 31, Southern Spirit 16

T20 Semi Final draw for next Sunday, 3 February at Erina Oval

11.00am The Entrance vs Northern Power

2.45pm Warnervale vs Kincumber Avoca


Northern Power have stormed from the clouds to seal an unlikely semi-final berth in the CCCA 1st Grade T20 competition.

Prior to the final round of double headers Northern Power were sitting in 8th position and seemingly with virtually no chance of making the semi-finals however big wins over Lisarow-Ourimbah and Narara-Wyoming saw them gain a final spot ahead of Wyong, who suffered losses to both Kincumber-Avoca and Warnervale and Narara-Wyoming, defeated ladder leaders Warnervale before losing to Northern Power in their final game.

The semi-final fixture next Sunday at Erina Oval will see The Entrance play Northern Power and Warnervale play Kincumber-Avoca.

Northern Power opened the day with a 69 run win over Lisarow-Ourimbah with half centuries to Ben Gillies and Zac Abel enabling them to score 5/157 which was too much for Lisarow-Ourimbah.

In their second game, it was Ben Gillies who was the hero playing a lone hand of 78 not out as Northern Power scraped together 7/112 before their fielding came to the fore with four run outs contributing to Narara-Wyoming being dismissed for just 75 runs.

Wyong entered the final day needing one win to secure a finals berth and were put to the sword by a dynamic opening partnership by Kincumber Avoca duo, Chris Clement and Chris Swaine who put on 54 runs inside 5 overs to put a big dent in their chase of Wyong’s score of 8/113. Import Andrew Dufty gave Wyong some late hope with 3/10 off his four overs but the damage was already done with Kincumber Avoca getting home with two overs to spare. Earlier skipper, Steve McCabe, in a rare appearance at the bowling crease was the star taking 4/16.

Against Warnervale, Wyong once again did well with the ball with Michael Leard’s three wickets reducing the Wildcats to 7/117 off their 20 overs, Simon Keen with 36 the leading scorer, however the batsmen were unable to handle Warnervale attack being dismissed for 76 with only Olly Thompson and Ben Whiteing reaching double figures with 20 apiece. Troy Waite 4/13 was able to capitalise on the good early work done by Kaine Harmsworth 3/18.

Earlier in the day, Warnervale’s unbeaten T20 run came to an end at the hands of Narara-Wyoming. Narara-Wyoming made the perfect start having the Warnervale big guns Simon Keen, Tony Cornwell, Kaine Harmsworth and Scott Atkinson all back in the pavilion with just three runs on the board. Warnervale ended up limping to 9/76 off their 20 overs, a total Narara-Wyoming were able to chase down for the loss of just one wicket inside 14 overs, Peter Cross led the way with 38 not out.

The Entrance warmed up for another tilt at the T20 crown by cruising to two victories ensuring they will defend their title from top spot.

Starting the day against Brisbane Water, they had to overcome 40 from Jordan Vilensky and Ben Cohen’s 33 as the opposition put a seemingly competitive 8/140 on the board. The total was nowhere near enough as 48 from 25 balls to veteran Jason Blackwood and 33 not out from Broc Hardy saw them pass the total inside 16 overs for the loss of just two wickets.

In the second game, once again fielding first, The Entrance were able to restrict Lisarow-Ourimbah to 8/127 off their 20 overs with Adam Taylor taking three wickets. Connor Crane 24 and Scott Burkinshaw, in an unusual role of opener 19 were the best of the Magpies bats. In reply, The Entrance were very professional in the chase scoring the runs for the loss of four wickets with an over to spare. Blackwood was again the main contributor with 29.

Having earlier defeated Wyong, Kincumber-Avoca knew a win over Southern Spirit would seal a finals berth and they wasted little time achieving this dismissing the Spirit side for just 41 inside 13 overs. Bryce Birks and Jack Heuston each took three wickets. The Griffen’s passed the total two wickets down.

Earlier, Southern Spirit recorded their first T20 win of the season with an exciting one wicket win over Terrigal-Matcham. Having dismissed Terrigal-Matcham for just 77 with Daniel Friend 3/2 the most successful bowler. In replay the Spirit were cruising at 2/36 before the introduction of Josh Bridge 3/13 reduced Spirit to 8/68 before last partnerships got them over the line with a wicket and two balls to spare.

The loss left Terrigal-Matcham the only team with a win, a record they corrected in the final game with an 8 wicket win over Brisbane Water with Bridge again leading the way taking 3/17.

Match details can be veiwed at: