Pin It


Warnervale and Wyong were the only teams to record two wins in the CCCA 1st Grade T20 matches played on Saturday.

Round 9 Review

Lisarow-Ourimbah 6/119 (Chris Sheppeard 51, Blair Lindsay 33) def Terrigal-Matcham 114 (Mitch Pennington 4/24, Mitchell McBeath 3/14) by 5 runs at Sohier Park

Wyong 7/140 (Jordan Liddle 32) def Southern Spirit 72 (Hayden Murphy 5/9) by 68 runs at Baker Park

The Entrance 3/127 (Adam Taylor 97no) def Narara-Wyoming 9/126 (Peter Gallichan 34, Dane Hokin 30) by 7 wickets at Jubilee Oval

Warnervale 0/83 (Simon Keen 64no) def Northern Power 82 (Simon Keen 3/14) by 10 wickets at Harry Moore Oval

Kincumber-Avoca vs Brisbane Water – Match washed out

The return of Simon Keen to the bowling crease and to the top of the batting order led Warnervale to an emphatic 10 wicket win over Northern Power at Harry Moore Oval.

After not bowling since Round 6, Keen took 3/14 as Northern Power were dismissed for just 82 runs with Ben Gillies top scoring with 27. In reply Keen pummelled the Power attack taking just 27 balls in scoring 64 not out as Warnervale passed the required total in under 7 overs.

Adam Taylor was the star in The Entrance’s seven wicket win over Narara-Wyoming at Jubilee Oval. The NSW Country representative took 3/17 with his left arm spinners before scoring an unbeaten 97 off 51 balls, including 10 fours and 6 sixes as The Entrance chased down Narara Wyoming total of 9/126 for the loss of three wickets. Peter Gallichan 34 and Dane Hokin 30 were the best of the Lions batsmen.

The closest match of the day was at Sohier Park where Lisarow-Ourimbah defeated Terrigal-Matcham by just five runs.

The return of former representative batsmen, Chris Sheppeard was instrumental in the Magpies finishing with 6/119 off their 20 overs. Sheppeard finished with 51 whilst Blair Lindsay chipped in with 33.

In reply, Terrigal-Matcham struggled to get on top with the bat, however 26 runs from Kyle James kept them in the hunt. Mitchell McBeath 3/14 stunted the Bellbirds progress through the middle of the innings however it was Mitch Pennington who was the star, dismissing key batsmen Lloyd Radcliffe at the top of the innings, before taking three wickets at the death, including the final wicket in the final over with Terrigal-Matcham needing just five runs. Pennington finished with 4/24.

Wyong skipper, Hayden Murphy led his side to a 68 run win over Southern Spirit at Baker Park.

Murphy, 27 and Jordan Liddle 32 led Wyong to a competitive total of 7/140 from their 20 overs, any chance of Southern Spirit chasing down the total were scuttled with Murphy taking 5/9 off three overs. Laurence Legge was the only Spirit batsmen to reach double figures scoring 25.

The final match between Kincumber-Avoca and Brisbane Water was unable to be played due to a wet wicket.

Round 10 Review

Warnervale 9/154 (Tony Cornwell 40, Simon Keen 32, Mitchell Starkey 4/31, Adam Taylor 3/13) def The Entrance 96 by 58 runs at Woongarrah Sports Complex

Narara-Wyoming 3/125 (Kered Baird 53) def Terrigal Matcham 8/121 (Lloyd Radcliffe 33, Aras Baird 3/22) by 7 wickets at Gavenlock Oval

Brisbane Water 3/134 (Ben Cohen 83) def Southern Spirit 7/133 (Justin Gerrie 37, Kevin Searle 3/35) by 7 wickets at Adcock Park

Wyong 5/121 (Olly Thompson 34, Nathan Stokes 3/15) def Northern Power 7/120 (Ben Gillies 42, Brett Lenton 38, Kaleb Daley 4/23) by 5 wickets at Harry Moore Oval

Kincumber-Avoca vs Lisarow-Ourimbah – Match washed out.

In the second of the T20 doubleheader Warnervale, 9/154 proved too strong for, The Entrance 96 at Woongarrah Sports Complex.

Batting first Tony Cornwell 40 and Simon Keen 32 led the way for Warnervale with an opening stand of 71. Mitchell Starkey 4/31 and Adam Taylor 3/13 were able to make inroads into the Wildcats batting however could not prevent them from putting a competitive total on the board.

The total proved too much for reigning T20 Premiers who could only manage 96 runs. Five Warnervale bowlers took two wickets apiece.

Narara-Wyoming rebounded from an earlier loss to defeat Terrigal-Matcham by 7 wickets at Gavenlock Oval.

Batting first Terrigal-Matcham, through Lloyd Radcliffe 33 and Mitch Bowring 28 were able to score 8/121 from their 20 overs. Aras Baird was the pick of the Narara-Wyoming bowlers taking 3/22.

In response, Narara-Wyoming paced their innings well with Kered Baird topscoring with 53 before skipper Peter Gallichan 29 not out and Dane Hokin 16 not out saw the Lions home with 9 balls to spare.

Fresh from a successful Colts campaign, Kaleb Daley led the way as Wyong defeated Northern Power by 5 wickets with 3 overs to spare.

It was a disappointing day for Northern Power as they convincingly lost both matches and batting first against Wyong they could only manage 120 after Ben Gillies 42 and Brett Lenton 38 had put on 81 runs for the second wicket. The loss off Gillies wicket signalled a Power collapse losing 4 wickets for 3 runs with Daley the instigator of the collapse taking three of the four wickets on his way to 4/23 off his fours overs.

In reply Olly Thompson 34 ensured Wyong got off to a good start before Daley finished off an excellent day for Wyong with 26. Nathan Stokes was the pick of the Northern Power bowlers taking 3/15.

Brisbane Water skipper Ben Cohen was at his belligerent best as Brisbane Water were too strong for Southern Spirit.

Batting second, Cohen hit 83 runs off 34 balls which included 10 sixes and 3 fours as the Bluetongues chased down Southern Spirit’s totals of 7/133 in the 11th over.

Earlier Justin Gerrie topscored for Southern Spirit with 37, whilst Kevin Searle was the most successful bowler with 3 wickets.

The match between Kincumber Avoca and Lisarow-Ourimbah was unable to played due to a wet wicket.

Ladder: Wyong 44, Brisbane Water 42, The Entrance 40, Warnervale 34, Narara-Wyoming 31, Terrigal-Matcham 25, Lisarow Ourimbah 24, Northern Power 22, Kincumber-Avoca 20, Southern Spirit 10

Central Coast Cricket will resume on 5 January 2019 with another T20 double header.