Pin It

CCCA Round 8 full results.

Scores following completion of Round 8 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition;

The Entrance 242 def Northern Power 126 (Ben Gillies 32, Mitchell Starkey 4/20, Kobe Allison 3/35) & 0/56 (Jeremy O’Connell 43*) by 116 runs on the 1st innings @ Harry Moore Oval

Warnervale 237 def Terrigal Matcham 200 (Lloyd Radcliffe 78, Joey Liddle 6/69) by 37 runs on the 1st innings @ Woongarrah Oval

Southern Spirit 220 def Lisarow Ourimbah 205 (Blair Lindsay 58, Connor Crane 50, Jordan O’Donnell 4/60, Harry Jaenke 3/43) by 15 runs on the 1st innings @ Sohier Park

Kincumber Avoca 9/108 (Steve McCabe 64, Kyle Jordan 3/18, Mark McLachlan 3/23 def Narara Wyoming 136 by 1 wicket on run rate on the 1st innings @ Gavenlock Oval

Brisbane Water 161 & 7/135 (Dave Mitchell 49, Hayden Murphy 4/33) def Wyong 149 & 146 (Ben Whiteing 35* Ben Sunshine 7/29, Matt Sunshine 3/41) outright by 3 wickets at Fagan Park

Table: The Entrance 34, Brisbane Water 43, Wyong 32, Narara-Wyoming 25, Terrigal Avoca 25, Northern Power 22, Warnervale 22, Lisarow-Ourimbah 16, Kincumber-Avoca 16, Southern Spirit 10


A big day of cricket on Saturday to complete Round 8 with victories to Brisbane Water, Warnervale, Kincumber-Avoca, The Entrance and Southern Spirit, who tasted success for the first time this season.

Brisbane Water continued their amazing turnaround by defeating Wyong outright by three wickets at Fagan Park.

After not having won a game in the first four rounds the Bluetongues have since won three consecutive matches outright to move into equal first position on the ladder.

Having already wrapped up first innings points on day one, it was the Sunshine brothers who set up the outright win with a brilliant bowling display.

Resuming at 0/56, Wyong were unable to handle the seam bowling of the duo and only Ben Whiteing was able to show any resistance topscoring with an unbeaten 35 batting at number 10.

Ben Sunshine turned back the clock finishing with figures of 7/29 off 14.3 overs whilst Matt continued his good run of form picking up the other three wickets.

Needing 135 runs for outright points the Bluetongues attacked the target aggressively, first through skipper Ben Cohen, 25 ( 3 fours, 2 sixes) and then Dave Mitchell 49 (4 fours and 4 sixes) and Ben Sunshine 20 (2 sixes) and despite a late scare, losing 5/16 to be 7/126, Matt Sunshine and Shaun Hill were able to secure the outright victory target without the loss of any further wickets.

Murphy was the pick of the Wyong bowlers finishing with 4/33.

Southern Spirit were celebrating on Saturday night after recording their first win of the year, defeating Lisarow-Ourimbah by 15 runs at Sohier Park.

After scoring 220 runs on Day 1, Southern Spirit led by quicks Jordan O’Donnell 4/60) , Harry Jaenke (3/43) and skipper Daniel Friend 2/45) were able to hang tough and rip through the Lisarow-Ourimbah lower order to record a memorable win.

Lisarow-Ourimbah skipper Blair Lindsay will no doubt be wondering what went wrong as the Magpies appeared to be cruising at 4/176 before losing their last six wickets for just 29 runs.

Lindsay topscored with 58 whilst import Connor Crane also recorded a half century (50).

Two outstanding individual performances highlighted the second day of the match at Woongarrah Oval between Warnervale and Terrigal-Matcham.

The Wildcats led by teenage off-spinner, Joey Liddle recorded a much needed 37 run win.

Bowling unchanged, Liddle finished with 6/69 off 28 overs remaining patient on a wicket that was providing moderate support.

Whilst Liddle was the star for Warnervale it was Lloyd Radcliffe who stood out for Terrigal Matcham. Radcliffe who normally opens the batting came to the crease with his side at 4/64 after Zac Peters was run out in the first over of the day.

The rangy left handed mixed resolute defence with attacking stroke play to put together an innings of 78 runs, and whilst he was at the crease Terrigal-Matcham were a chance for an unlikely victory. His dismissal however saw the Terrigal-Matcham tail succumb to Liddle and were dismissed for 200.

The Entrance flexed their muscles to outclass Northern Power by 116 runs at Harry Moore Oval to move back to the top of the ladder.

The Northern Power top order had no answer to The Entrance paceman Mitchell Starkey 4/20 and Kobe Allison 3/35 and were on the back foot after losing both openers, including Jeremy O’Connell without a run on the board.

Ben Gillies, 32 and youngster Jake Holmes 17 were able to steady the innings with a partnership of 53 for the third wicket however their dismissal (both to Starkey) saw the innings crumble to be all out for 126 with Dave Molan the only other batsmen to reach double figures, scoring 20 batting at number 10.

Kincumber-Avoca welcomed the rain on Saturday afternoon as they recorded their second win of the year defeating Narara-Wyoming by one wicket at Gavenlock Oval.

Chasing Narara-Wyoming’s first innings score of 136, the Griffins were 9/108 when the storm arrived forcing the players from the field. Unable to return to the field the match was decided on rate rate, which when calculated had Kincumber-Avoca in front by just two runs.

As has been the case all game batsmen found runs hard to come by, except for Kincumber-Avoca star Stephen McCabe who looked as if he was playing on a different wicket putting together an innings of 64 runs (next highest score in the match was 29) which included seven fours and two sixes off 123 balls. McCabe’s innings kept Kincumber-Avoca in the game with Dan Heuston the only the other batsmen to get past 8, scoring 13.

For Narara-Wyoming, Mark McLachlan 3/23 and Kyle Jordan 3/18, whilst Michael Shelley looked like bowling the Lions victory taking 2/9 late including the wicket of McCabe.

All match details can be found at: