Pin It


Scores from Day 1 of Round 8 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition;

The Entrance 242 (Ben Day 91, Lochie Gale 73, Dave Molan 3/66) vs Northern Power @ Harry Moore Oval

Warnervale 237 (John Boyd 57, Tony Cornwell 56, Mitch McNeilly 55, Jaime Brien 4/52, Josh Bridge 3/59) vs Terrigal Matcham 3/64 (Tim Bowring 31) @ Woongarah Oval

Southern Spirit 220 (Laurence Legge 51, Blair Lindsay 4/69) vs Lisarow Ourimbah 1/68 (Blair Lindsay 43 not out) @ Sohier Park

Narara Wyoming 136 ( Ethan Short 3/11, Jack McRae 3/13) vs Kincumber Avoca 2/12 @ Gavenlock Oval

Wyong 149 (Hayden Murphy 86, Kaleb Daley 38, Dane Croker 3/37) & 0/54 vs Brisbane Water 161 (Ben Sunshine 68 not out, Ben Cohen 37, Harry Townsend 5/19, Mark Leard 3/25)


All five matches are evenly poised after Day 1 of Round 8 of the CCCA 1st Grade competition played on Saturday.

In the Grand Final rematch at Harry Moore Oval, it was The Entrance’s Ben Day who again thwarted Northern Power as the Seagulls batted all day to finish on 242.

Northern Power could not have started any better by having key The Entrance batsmen Adam Taylor, Shaun Byfield and Broc Hardy all back in the pavilion with just five runs on the board.

However, as was the case in last years Grand Final, the experienced Day came to the rescue for the visitors and with the aid of skipper Lochie Gale, 73 the pair were able to put on 168 runs for the fourth wicket. Day was unlucky to miss out on his century as Dave Molan had the left hander caught at the wicket for 91.

Jason Blackwood, 28 and a last wicket stand of 26 frustrated the tiring Power attack, who will need a strong batting performance if they are to get the win next week.

Molan was the pick of the bowlers finishing with 3/66 off a marathon 28 overs whilst Chris Archer and Jeremy O’Connell each picked up two wickets.

Brisbane Water continued their recent resurgence, by claiming first innings points over Wyong, however the ladder leaders hit back hard late in the day to keep an outright win a possibility at Fagan Park.

Winning the toss and batting first, Wyong were dismissed for just 149 runs with skipper Hayden Murphy a standout with 86 runs, whilst Kaleb Daley, 38 was the only other batsmen to reach double figures.

The wickets were evenly shared around for Brisbane Water with Dane Crocker, 3/37, Ben Cphen 2/13 and Matt Sunshine, 2/19 the pick.

Brisbane Water chased first innings points with plenty of gusto with Ben Sunshine 68 not out, Ben Cohen 37 and Dave Mitchell 29 having their team well placed at 3/89 before the introduction of teenage gun, Harrison Townsend changed the momentum of the match.

Townsend’s left arm spin, ripped through the Brisbane Water lower order and his 5/19 off 9 overs, saw Brisbane Water dismissed for 161, with a lead off just 12, well short of what it looked like it could have been.

Batting a second time, Wyong finished the day at 0/54 and a lead of 42 runs.

It was a dour affair at Gavenlock Oval between Narara-Wyoming and Kincumber Avoca with just 148 runs scored off 90 overs for the loss off 12 wickets.

Batting first Narara-Wyoming were dismissed for 136 of 74 overs with Andy Ryan again top scoring with 29 and opener Mark McLachlan chipping in with 24.

Youngster Etan Short was the pick off the Kincumber-Avoca bowlers taking 3/11, whilst Jack McRae was influential in the middle order finishing with 3/13.

In reply, Kincumber finished the day at 2/12 with plenty of work still to do.

Half centuries to John Boyd, 57 , Tony Cornwell 56 and Mitch McNeilly 55 saw Warnervale record a very competitive total of 237 against Terrigal Matcham at Woongarah Oval.

Jaime Brien was again Terrigal Matcham’s most successful bowler finishing with 4/52 whilst Josh Bridge 3/59 and Zac Peters 2/49 also bowled well.

At stumps Terrigal Matcham finished at 3/64, however key batsmen Tim Bowring, 31 and Ryan James, 24 have both been dismissed.

In the final game at Sohier Park, Southern Spirit put in their best batting performance of the year to give themselves a chance to record their first win of the year against Lisarow-Ourimbah.

Led by 51 from Laurence Legge and 29’s from Daniel Friend, Zane Smith and Jordan O’Donnell, the Spirit were dismissed for 220.

Blair Lindsay was the most successful Lisarow Ourimbah bowler taking four wickets with his left arm spin whilst Scott Burkinshaw and Mitch McBeath each took two wickets.

Lisarow-Ourimbah made a positive start to the chase and at stumps were 1/68 with Lindsay unbeaten on 43.

All match details can be found at: