Pin It


Results following the completion of Round 7:

The Entrance 327 def Warnervale 186 (Joey Liddle 38, Tony Cornwell 35, Simon Keen 32, Mitch Starkey 3/43, Grant Miller 3/54) by 141 runs at Jubilee Oval

Brisbane Water 7/163 & 1/92 (Ben Cohen 53 not out) def Southern Spirit 66 & 188 (Daniel Friend 76 not out, Trent Scott 3/39, Kevin Searle 3/55) outright by 9 wickets at Col Gooley Field

Wyong 8/163 (Hayden Murphy 72, Chris Archer 6/46) def Northern Power 162 by 2 wickets at Baker Park

Narara-Wyoming 148 tied with Terrigal Matcham 148 (Ryan James 57, Mitch Bowring 39, Kieran Lawson 5/9)

Lisarow-Ourimbah 91 def Kincumber Avoca 51 & 8/132 (Jack Heuston 37, Steve McCabe 34, Jake Cherniayeff 3/19) by 40 runs at Erina Oval

Table: Wyong 32, The Entrance 28, Terrigal-Matcham 25, Narara-Wyoming 25, Brisbane Water 24, Northern Power 22, Lisarow-Ourimbah 16, Warnervale 16, Kincumber-Avoca 10, Southern Spirit 4


A tied match between Narara-Wyoming and Terrigal Avoca highlighted Round 7 of the Central Coast Cricket 1st Grade competition played on Saturday.

Wyong remained on top of the table whilst The Entrance, Lisarow-Ourimbah and Brisbane Water all recorded victories.

Resuming at 5/45 in chase of Narara-Wyoming first innings total of 148, Terrigal-Match looked set for victory after Mitch Bowring (39) and Ryan James (57) saw them needing 6 runs for victory with two wicket remaining.

The Lions however once again displayed their never say die and attached and led by underrated paceman Kieran Lawson were able to dismiss Josh Bridge with the score on 143 and then Lawson trapped James in front with the scores tied. Amazingly it is Narara-Wyoming’s third tie in the last couple of years.

James, in his first bat for the year, displayed his class to record an effortless half century whilst Lawson was a standout taking 5/9 off 16 overs.

Wyong remained on top of the table but not before receiving an almighty scare from Northern Power.

Resuming at 2/103 requiring another 50 runs for victory, the Roos crashed to be 8/141 on the back of a superb spell from recently anointed NSW Country spinner Chris Archer, 6/46.

Requiring 23 runs for victory youngster Harry Townsend (4 not out off 40 balls) and keeper BJ Whiteing (17 not out also off 40 balls) were very composed and able to score the required runs for victory.

Wyong skipper, Hayden Murphy top scored with 72.

The Entrance moved back into the top four courtesy of a 161 run win over Warnervale at Jubilee Oval.

Set 328 for victory Warnervale were dismissed for 186 with Joey Liddle 38, Tony Cornwell 35 and Simon Keen 32 the best performed batsmen.

Mitch Starkey was the leading The Entrance bowler taking 3/43 including the wickets of Cornwell, Keen and Chris Harper. Grant Miller also excelled with the ball taking 3/54.

Brisbane Water recorded their second consecutive outright win defeating Southern Spirit by nine wicket at Col Gooley Field.

Winless after the first five rounds the Bluetongues now find themselves just one point outside the top four.

After being in complete control after day 1, Brisbane Water were defied by Southern Spirit who put in their best batting performance of the year led by 76 not out from skipper Daniel Friend.

Eventually they were dismissed in the 70th over for 188 leaving Brisbane Water requiring 92 runs for victory which Brisbane Water duly achieved in the 18th over with Ben Cohen continuing a fine match with the bat finishing 53 not out.

Trent Scott 3/39 and Kevin Searle 3/55 were the pick of the Brisbane Water bowling.

In the final game, Lisarow-Ourimbah recorded a first innings win over Kincumber Avoca at Erina Oval.

With Lisarow already taking first innings points on day 1, neither side were able to force an outright win with Kincumber-Avoca batting out the day to finish on 8/132 when stumps were called.

Jack Heuston 37 and Steve McCabe 34 were the best of the Kincumber-Avoca batsmen whilst Jake Cherniayeff 3/19 and Scott Burkinshaw 2/45 were the leading Lisarow-Ourimbah bowlers.