Pin It


Last night the Central Coast annual night of nights, the Alan Davidson Medal night, was held in unprecedented circumstances with a facebook live stream announcing the winners.

Lisarow Ourimbah’s Scott Burkinshaw claimed the Alan Davidson Medal after an outstanding year both at club and representative level. Burkinshaw was selected in the Australian Country Merit side at the Australian Country Championships while also being named the NSW Player of the Tournament. He also moved to first place for NSW for wickets taken at the championships. Burkinshaw was a member of both the Central Coast Open rep side and the Regional Bush Bash side. At club level, he was a nominee for the Central Coast Team of the Year and co-captained Lisarow Ourimbah to a First Grade Grand Final. This is the first time Burkinshaw has won the award.

Other major awards presented on the night were Rep Cricketer of the Year won by Northern Power’s Chris Archer and Wyong’s Tiegan Kavanagh winning the Female Rep Cricketer of the Year. Kincumber Avoca’s Dylan Robertson claimed the First Grade Player of the Year.

Other awards presented were the Champion Player for 2nd-8th Grade and the Women’s T20, Volunteer of the Year and all junior awards.

The night had up to 200 people watching at some stages and was well received by all.

Lisarow Ourimbah’s Scott Burkinshaw  


Pin It


Kincumber Avoca have gone back to back winning the Everything Sports Glenn Rowlands Shield Under 21s final by 17 runs against Southern Spirit at Col Gooley Oval on Sunday.

With the wicket square still damp from earlier rain, the match would be reduced to an 18 over a side game with Southern Spirit winning an important toss in the final and decided to send the Griffins in to bat and it looked like it was going to pay off with the boys in purple taking two early poles. But the Griffins first grade pairing of skipper Daniel Heuston and Bryce Birks steadied the ship, putting on a valuable 36 runs for the third wicket. But the Spirit thought back taking 4-15, with McIntyre grabbing both wickets of Heuston and Birks, through the middle of the innings. Mitchell Drake then played a very mature innings to guide the Griffins to the end of the 18 overs finishing 17*, with Kincumber Avoca on 8-86. Southern Spirits run chase didn’t get off to a great start losing a wicket 2nd ball and then Lachlan Bull was run out later that over. The Griffins bowling and fielding was on song with Bryce Birks taking the key wicket of Zane Smith for a duck inside the powerplay and the Spirit falling to 7-40 within 10 overs. When first grader Lachlan Cork was dismissed by Dylan Booth for well made 28 and then Booth picked up his third, it was all over bar the shouting, eventually dismissed for 69 and Kincumber Avoca would be crowned Under 21s Champions. A superb all round performance from Bryce Birks with 23 runs and two wickets, saw him awarded the player of the final.

U21 Champions Aaron O`Brien Medallist - Bryce Birks

Earlier, recent rain came to fruition once again at Umina with players and officials turning to a damp scene. Excellent work from the Southern Spirit officials and ground staff got the first semi final underway between Southern Spirit and Warnervale in a 6 over affair. The Spirit batted first and were going at a run a ball before a big last over, seeing 15 runs come from it, pushing their score to 3-44 from their 36 balls. Zane Smith provided fireworks at the end and finished 17* from 12 balls while for the Wildcats, Daniel Hill was the best of the bowlers taking 1-10 from two overs. The Wildcats through everything they had at the run chase but fell 8 runs short of the total. Daniel Hill was explosive hitting 11 runs from only 6 deliveries, but the Spirit bowler just kept taking wickets, claiming seven in six overs. Liam McIntyre was the most successful bowler taking two wickets in his single over.

Unfortunately rain at the end of the first semi final, and during the thirty minute break, which saturated the wicket square which resulted in the second semi final being abandoned with minor premiers Kincumber Avoca, who went through undefeated, progressing through to the final with Terrigal Matcham the unlucky side to be knocked out.

Full scorecards:

The match was livestreamed and can be viewed at:

© Copyright “2020”Central Coast Sports