Pin It


Kincumber Avoca have claimed the T20 Premiership defeating Lisarow Ourimbah by 82 runs in the final at Harry Moore Oval.

Kincumber T20 Premiers

Winning the toss and electing to bat, the Griffins got off to a slow start losing two early wickets courtesy of Matt Sunshine. That however brought Dylan Robertson and Steve McCabe to the crease and with the Magpies catching letting them down, they changed the momentum of the match, putting on 81 for the third wicket before McCabe was bowled by Sunshine. Robertson continued his merry way hitting to all parts of the ground until he was dismissed for a very well made 63 from just 45 balls. The Griffins ended up finishing 5-147 from their 20 overs, Matt Sunshine being the pick of the Magpies bowlers finishing with 4-23.

The Magpies needed someone up the top too fire and unfortunately their innings never got going, slumping to 3-3 early on. The Magpies never gave in however brilliant bowling from the Griffins saw wickets tumble regularly and eventually bowled Lisarow Ourimbah out for 65. Robertson completed an all-round performance finishing with 3-10 while Dylan Booth and Luke Sullivan also picking up two wickets. Robertson was awarded the Jay Lenton Medal as Player of the Grand Final for his efforts.

Jay Lenton Medallist

Earlier in the day, Kincumber Avoca defeated Northern Power to advance to the grand final later in the day. Batting first, the Griffins batsmen worked hard on a pitch doing a little bit posting 8-123 from their 20 overs. Star bat Steve McCabe made 29 while John McCrae made 22 and Chris Swaine made a swashbuckling 27 off just 15 balls. Wickets were shard around with Mark Daniel, Dave Molan and Nick Babcock picking up two each. The Power struggled to rotate the strike in their innings, a compliment to the Griffins tight bowling, and the run rate ending up getting too far ahead of them, finally being bowled out for 79. Molan, 17, Jeremy O’Connell,16, and Michael Bell, 13, were the only batsmen to score in double figures. Dylan Robertson started the day well picking up 4-12 while Rob Lavery picked up two.

In the second Semi Final, Lisarow Ourimbah won a nail biter defeating The Entrance by just six runs. The Magpies lost wickets in clumps to disrupt their innings and were bowled out in the last over for 110. Aaron Pisani led the way with the bat with 34 while skipper Blair Lindsay made a well compiled 28. Wickets were once again shared with Mitchell Starkey, Adam Taylor and Jason Pereira all picking up two wickets. A fine opening bowling spell by Matt Sunshine and Luke Jacobs made it hard for the Seagulls top order while also adding scoreboard pressure to the required run rate. Tight bowling through the middle pushed the game into the Magpies favour and calm bowling late gave the black and white team the victory. Jason Blackwood scored 23 to be the Gulls top scorer with Ash Hardy finishing 17*. For the Magpies, Luke Jacobs, 2-12, and Mitchell McBeath, 2-16, were excellent with the ball.

Full scorecards can be viewed at:

Vision of all finals can be found on the Central Coast Cricket Association Facebook page HERE.

© Copyright “2020”Central Coast Sports