Pin It


Central Coast have been rewarded for the excellent recent representative form, which included making the past three McDonald’s Country Cricket NSW Championship finals by having four players named in the 2018/19 NSW Country squad which will play in the Australian Country Championships to be held in Shepparton in January.

Lisarow-Ourimbah pair, Scott Burkinshaw and Blair Lindsay, The Entrance’s Adam Taylor and Northern Power captain Chris Archer will don the baggy blue cap against Victoria, South Australia, Western Australia and Queensland in a carnival to be played on January 3-11.

For Burkinshaw it will be the 5th time that he has represented NSW Country, with the fast bowler receiving All- Australian Country honours on two occasions.

Lindsay, it will be 5 years since he played his only carnival in Canberra only this time it will be in the role of a left arm spinner as opposed to a middle order batsmen he was selected as in 2013/14.

Adam Taylor’s selection comes as no surprise after coming to the attention selectors at the 2014/15 NSW Country Championships with consecutive scores in the 90’s. Whilst still performing consistently at future carnivals it was the addition of left arm spin to his arsenal that forced the selectors hand.

Arguably the most popular selection was that of Archer who has been a standout performer for Central Coast in both NSW Country and Kingsgrove Cup T20 for many years. After being the reserve spinner for possibly the last five years, Archer has at long last gained the selection that he so richly deserved.

The 14 man squad includes 7 debutants, whilst the carnival will consist of four one day games and four T20 games, with finals for each. The State with the best combined record will be named Australian Country Champions, a title NSW Country currently hold.

The squad will go into camp in Sydney on News Year Eve before travelling to Shepparton on New Years Day.

Full squad:

Tom Groth ©                  Central Northern
Chris Archer                    Central Coast (debutant)
Alec Baldwin                   North Coastal (debutant)
Graeme Batty                   Greater Illawarra
Scott Burkinshaw             Central Coast
Adrian Chad                      Newcastle (debutant)
Jed Dickson                       Newcastle (debutant)
Josh Geary                         Newcastle (debutant)
Blair Lindsay                      Central Coast
Tom O"Neill                       Central Northern
Ben Patterson                   Western (debutant)
Cameron Suidgeest          Riverina
Adam Taylor                      Central Coast (debutant)
Caleb Ziebell                      North Coastal

Jeff Cook                          Coach
Shane Burley                   Assistant Coach
David Redden                  Manager