Pin It

Two of the Central Coast’s most dynamic batsmen came out to play in Round 7 whilst the return of a club stalwart inspired his team to their first win of the season.


Home Team


Away Team


9 Nov 19

Northern Power




9 Nov 19

Lisarow3/138 B Cohen 92*  KJ Daley 2/27


Wyong136 KJ Daley 30 H Murphy 27  BR Sunshine 4/31 MK Sunshine 3/24 B Lindsay 2/23

Bill Sohier Park

9 Nov 19

Terrigal8/151(cc) TC Bowring 45 O Twyford 32  L Gale 3/12 A Taylor 2/25


The Entrance9/150(cc) M Mariner 54  D Cross 2/18 JM Bridge 2/21 MM Bowring 2/40

Duffy's Road 

9 Nov 19

Narara106 P Cross 33  D Robertson 3/17 RJ Lavery 2/21


Kincumber86  KJ Jordan 3/14 A Ryan 3/19

Gavenlock Oval 

9 Nov 19

Southern Spirit9/216 D Friend 58 R Watson 37 J Starkey 30 ZH Smith 28  H Jackson-Sullivan 2/30 B Russell 2/36 J Liddle 2/43

def by

Warnervale7/256(cc) S Keen 140 T Cornwell 35  HS Jaenke 2/48

Col Gooley Field

It has been a slow start to the season by Warnervale skipper, Simon Keen however that all changed on Saturday at Col Gooley Field against Southern Spirit.

The 2018/19 1st Grade Cricketer of the Year played a brilliant innings of 140 in his teams total of 7/256 off 40 overs. Such was Keen’s dominance his opening partnership with Tony Cornwell, who himself is an aggressive batsmen, totalled 126 of which Cornwell’s contribution was 35.

The Southern Spirit attack was hampered by an injury to Jordan O’Donnell however they had no answer to Keen with Harry Jaenke the most successful bowler with 2/48 off his seven overs.

In reply, Southern Spirit were gallant amassing 216 before being dismissed in the final over. Skipper Daniel Friend topscored with 58, whilst Ross Watson 37, Jay Starkey 30, Zane Smith 28 and Laurence Legge 24 all made solid contributions. Joey Liddle, Hunter Jackson-Sullivan and Brett Russell all took two wickets.

At Sohier Park, Lisarow Ourimbah opener Ben Cohen was at his brutal best with an unbeaten 92 which came off just 62 balls. Cohen made Wyong pay for dropping him as he dispatched the attack to all parts of the ground clearing the fence on six occasions.

Cohen’s innings enable the Magpies to pass Wyong’s total of 136 in just the 18th over to remain at the top of the ladder, yet to taste defeat.

Earlier, Wyong got themselves into a handy position at 4/105 after batting first before a late order collapse, triggered by the Sunshine brothers Ben, 4/31 and Matt 3/24, saw them dismissed for 106 off 33 overs.

Kaleb Daley topscored with 30 whilst skipper Hayden Murphy chipped in with 27.

Wyong, last years premiers now see themselves sitting at the bottom of the table, replacing Terrigal Matcham who recorded their first win of the season in a thrilling match against The Entrance at Duffy’s Road.

Batting first The Entrance put together a consistent batting effort with five of the top six batsmen reaching double figures and Marc Mariner continuing his good form topscoring with 54. Josh Bridge, Daniel Cross and Mitch Bowring each took two wickets as The Entrance finished their 40 overs at 9/150.

It has been well documented that batting has been the Bellbirds main problem this year however the return of Tim Bowring was a much needed boost.

Opening the innings Bowring did what he does best batting with patience and enabling the innings to develop. Along with opening partner Olly Twyford the pair put on 74 for the first innings, a total which the whole team has only been able to exceed once this year. Twyford was eventually run out for a well made 32. They were immediately two fa when Ryan James suffered the same fate for 1.

Through this however Bowring continued to be defiant before he was eventually dismissed for 45 off 101 balls and with the score on 115.

Bowring’s dismissal sparked a collapse which saw Terrigal lose five wickets for 16 runs to be 7/131 which soon became 8/142 and the game was in the balance.

Bridge and Cross, who were good with the ball, stood tall with the bat and were able to withstand everything The Entrance could throw at them to score the necessary runs to give Terrigal Matcham their first win of the season.

In the final game, Narara Wyoming made it two wins in a row when they upset second placed Kincumber Avoca at Gavenlock Oval.

The match was a low scoring affair with the Lions being able to defend their total of 106.

Peter Cross, returning after missing the last few matches, was the standout with the bat for Narara scoring 33 with Andy Ryan next best with 18 before becoming one of four run outs in the innings. Dylan Robertson was again the pick of the bowlers with the seasons leading wicket taker taking 3/17 off his 8 overs. Rob Lavery also returned his best figures since returning to first grade after missing last season through injury taking 2/21. Michael Drake also had an impressive day behind the stumps on his debut finishing with a catch, stumping and no byes.

Defending a small total, Narara Wyoming made the perfect start with Mitch Wood dismissing the in form Harry Woodhead in the second over. Kyle Jordan then remove Chris Clement and John McRae in quick succession and in between this Tom Owen ran out the dangerous Robertson for 1 to have the Griffens struggling at 4/11.

Kincumber Avoca were unable to put together the one good partnership they needed losing wickets at regular intervals with only Bryce Birks 23 and captain Dan Heuston 16 reaching double figures as they were dismissed for 86 in the 32nd over.

Kyle Jordan was superb leading the attack finishing with 3/14 off his 8 overs whilst Andy Ryan does what Andy Ryan does taking 3/19 also off 8 overs including the wickets of both Birks and Heuston.

Northern Power had the bye.


CCCA Tables as at Round 7


© Copyright “2020”Central Coast Sports