Pin It


Wyong and Northern Power will meet in the 2018/19 CCCA 1st Grade Grand Final at Sohier Park this weekend.

Both sides upset their more fancied opponents in last weeks semi finals and will be confident heading into the decider.

Northern Power will be looking to avenge last years Grand Final loss, when they lost to The Entrance, and also claim the clubs first 1st Grade premiership since Toukley won in 1996/97.

For Wyong it has been a remarkable turnaround and they are one win away from completing the last to first fairytale after claiming the wooden spoon last year. Wyong last won the premiership in 2009/10.

This weekend will bring down the curtain on the career of one of Central Coast Cricketers modern day stars with Northern Power’s Caine Barnes retiring from 1st Grade cricket after the Grand Final. Barnes showed in the semi final that he still has plenty to offer putting together a matchwinning 63 and he will be a key player in the Grand Final.

Both teams are evenly matches in the bowling department with David Molan, Chris Archer and Nick Babcock leading the way for Northern Power whilst Kaleb Daley, Hayden Murphy, Harrison Townsend, Bailey King and Andrew Dufty have performed well all year for Wyong.

The batting on both side can be unreliable with Wyong mainstay being Murphy with assistance from Olly Thompson whilst the experienced Mark Leard has played some important knocks in the lower order including 60 last week. Northern Power batting is headed up by Brett Lenton, Ben Gillies, Zac Abel and Jeremy O’Connell all who have the potential to put together big scores.

Wyong has had the edge over Northern Power winning both the two day match and also the T20 match however that counts for nothing heading into the weekend.

The match will be a two day fixture starting at 12pm on Saturday and Sunday.

All matches can be followed live at:

Previous encounters:

Round 7 – Two Day
Wyong 8/163 def Northern Power 162

Round 10 – T20
Wyong 5/121 def Northern Power 7/120

Full List of Grand Finals

1st Grade - Two Day - 12pm​
Wyong vs Northern Power @ Sohier Park

2nd Grade - Two Day - 12pm
The Entrance vs Northern Power @Woongarrah Oval

3rd Grade - Two Day - 12.30pm​
Kincumber Avoca vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ Rogers Park # 2

4th Grade - Two Day - 12.30pm
The Entrance vs Warnervale @McKillop Oval

5th Grade - Two Day - 12.30pm​
Lisarow Ourimbah vs Warnervale @Halekulani Oval

6th Grade - Two Day - 12.30pm​
Northern Power vs Kincumber Avoca @ Hamlyn Terrace Oval

7th Grade - One Day - 12.30pm​
Terrigal Matcham vs Narara Wyoming @ Hylton Moore Park

8th Grade - One Day - 12.30pm​
Narara Wyoming vs Southern Spirit White @ Mascord Park/ Wadalba

9th Grade - One Day - 12.30pm​
Southern Spirit vs Narara Wyoming @ Kanwal Oval

Ladies T20 - One Day - 2.00pm​
Terrigal Matcham vs Kincumber Avoca @Lisarow Sporting Field