The semi-finals of the Central Coast Cricket competitions will be played this weekend with the winners to progress through to the grand finals next weekend.

In the 1st Grade competition Defending Premiers, The Entrance will play Northern Power at Sohier Park, in a replay of last years Grand Final whilst Warnervale and Wyong will do battle at Woongarrah Oval.

The Entrance will enter their contest against Northern Power full of confidence having claimed the Minor Premiership and also winning the one-day competition last Sunday, however they will need to combat a Northern Power side who enter the finals on the back of winning six of their past seven matches, including one by outright. Such was the Power’s mid season form they were sitting in ninth position after Round 11 and in the line at the travel agency booking their end of season trip.

The appointment of respected coach, Rohan Hutchinson has turned around the sides fortunes and they will enter the match confident of knocking the Minor Premiers out of the competition for the second year running, having dealt the same fate on Kincumber Avoca last year.

Whilst Northern Powers bowling attack led by Dave Molan and Nathan Stokes with the new ball and the spin combination of Chris Archer and Nick Babcock are very consistent the same could not be said about their batting. Over many years now the Power’s batting has been rocks or diamonds and very little in between. The promotion of Brett Lenton to the top of the lineup this year has been a masterstroke with the aggressive right hander have a career best season with the bat which included 138 not out last week. Zac Abel has been putting together some good scores of late whilst Ben Gillies has been in good form all year although he has a penchant of failing to capitalise on good starts. Returns of just two half centuries across the season is not a true reflection of the quality of Gillies with the bat. If Jeremy O’Connell and Caine Barnes can spend some quality time in the middle Northern Power will be right in this contest.

The Entrance on the other hand have been a model of consistency dropping just three games across the season in claiming the minor premiership. Their lineup posesses both quality and depth which makes it difficult for the opposition to overcome. The quality comes in the class of Adam Taylor, Broc Hardy, Ben Day, Mitch Starkey and Kobe Allison whilst Kris Capeski and Nick Hay have made excellent contributions of late and the experienced Jason Blackwood and Ash Hardy are always reliable.

Should be an enticing encounter.

Previous encounters:

Round 8 – Two Dayer

The Entrance 242 def Northern Power 126 & 0/56

Round 11 – T20

The Entrance 6/203 def Northern Power 8/131

Quarter Final – T20

The Entrance 9/101 def Northern Power 6/95

The second semi final will see the high flying Warnervale Wildcats take on the Wyong Roos at Woongarrah Oval.

This Wildcats will be playing in their first 1st Grade finals encounter, however if the T20 final is any indication they won’t be daunted by the occasion. They enter the finals as the form side of the competition having won 9 of their last 10 matches including the T20 final. In addition to this they have arguably the competitions hottest player at the moment in their skipper Simon Keen who has been outstanding with bat and ball and would be expected to have a major say in the outcome of this match.

In saying that however they are not a one man team with other match winners in Kaine Harmsworth and Tony Cornwell, however it has been the improvements in the likes of Joey Liddle, Daniel Hill, Mitch McNeilly and Brett Russell which has contributed to their success.

Wyong on the other hand have been the quite achievers all year, rarely being outside the top four albeit they started the wobble towards the end of the year winning only one of their last six matches before having to defeat Terrigal Matcham last week to seal their finals spot.

Wyong have a workman like outfit, who rely on every player to make a contribution for them to get the results. Skipper Hayden Murphy is a class player, who has not been at his best of late but you would expect him to perform big in the finals. Youngsters Kaleb Daley and Harrison Townsend have had break out years whilst the experienced campaigners in Mark Leard and Rob Westley continue to make valuable contributions.

This should be a great contest also.

Previous encounters:

Round 3 – One Day

Wyong 4/130 def Warnervale 126

Round 15 – T20

Warnervale 7/117 def Wyong 76

Both semi-finals are two day matches on Saturday and Sunday commencing at 12pm.

All matches can be followed live at:

Full List of Semi Finals:

1st Grade – Two Day

The Entrance vs Northern Power @ Sohier Park
Warnervale vs Wyong @ Woongarrah Oval

2nd Grade – Two Day

The Entrance vs Wyong @ Jubilee Park
Northern Power vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ Duffys Rd

3rd Grade – Two Day

The Entrance vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ Rogers Park # 2
Kincumber Avoca vs Northern Power @ McKillop Oval

4th Grade – Two Day

The Entrance vs Northern Power @ EDSACC North
Lisarow Ourimbah vs Warnervale @ Hamlyn Terrace

5th Grade – Two Day

Lisarow Ourimbah vs Wyong @ Hylton Moore Park
Northern Power Orange vs Warnervale @ Mascord Park

6th Grade – Two Day

Southern Spirit vs Kincumber Avoca @ Kanwal Oval
Northern Power vs Wyong Green @ Alan Davidson Park

7th Grade – One Day

Terrigal Matcham vs Wyong @ Sohier Park # 2
Narara Wyoming vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ Lisarow Sporting Field

8th Grade – One Day

Narara Wyoming vs Warnervale @ Bluehaven Oval
Southern Spirit White vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ Halekulani Oval

9th Grade – One Day

Southern Spirit vs Northern Power @ Sohier Park # 3
Lisarow Ourimbah vs Narara Wyoming @ Paddy Clifton # 1

Ladies T20 – One Day

Terrigal Matcham vs Lisarow Ourimbah @ McEvoy Oval
Northern Power Orange vs Kincumber Avoca @ Frost Reserve