NSW Country Rugby Union Championships 2017 (Update)

Mid North Coast Zone will take centre stage this weekend, with the staging of the New South Wales Country Rugby Union Championships in Port Macquarie on 29 & 30 April 2017.

It will be an historic weekend for the zone, as it will be the first time the Senior & Colts NSW Country Championships will be held on the Mid North Coast, and the zone is geared to host a successful event.

Each of the nine NSW Country Zones will be represented at the two day championships, which will see the Caldwell Cup (Senior Tier 1), Richardson Shield (Senior Tier 2),
Rowlands Colts Cup (Colts Tier 1) and Colts Shield (Colts Tier 2) up for grabs. There will also be seven NSW Country Zones participating in the Women’s Seven’s Championships,
which will also be staged at the Port Macquarie Sports Stadium.

Tier 1 defending champions Illawarra (Seniors) and Newcastle Hunter (Colts) will be looking to take out the respective titles for the third year on the trot, but each of the other zones will be lining up to knock them out of the winners circle.

Each of the Tier 2 zones will be keen to get an early result to advance to the final to set up a chance to take home some silverware, together with an opportunity to gain promotion to Tier 1 next season.

Tier 1 & 2 structures are based on last year’s championship results and standings, which saw zones promoted/relegated to/from Tier 1, so Day 1 is D-Day, not only for determining who goes on to contest finals, but who is in the firing line for promotion/relegation.

The championships will also provide an opportunity for players to stake their claims for selection in the NSW Country Cockatoos and Cockatoo Colts Training Squads. With many of last year’s squad members having retired, transferred or being unavailable, the NSW Country Coaches will be looking long and hard at the talent on show in each of the matches.

Action kicks off at Port Macquarie Sports Stadium at 9.00am on both days, with Senior, Colts and Women’s Seven’s matches being played on both fields throughout the days.
Championship draws, match times and field allocations are available on the NSWCRU webpage www.nswcountryrugby.com.au